<< Go To Back

2014 FSWA writing award finalists announced

The Fantasy Sports Writers Association is pleased to announce our finalists for 2014 writing awards. This is our eleventh awards season, and the pool of nominees has seen extraordinary growth throughout the association's history. Winners will be announced at the 2015 FSTA Winter Conference in Las Vegas, January 15-16. As always, an independent panel consisting of university journalism instructors has selected our finalists and winners, through a blind process.

Here are the 2014 FSWA award finalists…

Video of the Year
FNTSY Pat Mayo 
Yahoo Fantasy Football Live 
RotoExperts at the Park, Scott Engel

Radio Show of the Year
SiriusXM Fantasy Drive
SiriusXM Scout Fantasy Sports
SiriusXM RotoExperts

Podcast of the Year
Dan Back, RotoGrinders 
Nick Minnix, RotoGraphs 
John Tuvey, The Huddle

Best Fantasy Baseball Publication
Sporting News Fantasy Source Baseball
Baseball Forecaster
USA Today Fantasy Baseball 2014

Best Fantasy Football Publication
USA Today Fantasy Football 2014
Sporting News Fantasy Football
Fantasy Alarm Fantasy Football Draft Guide

Basketball Writer of the Year
Adam Ronis, RotoExperts
Dave Holcomb, The Sports Network
Aaron Bruski, Rotoworld

Hockey Writer of the Year
Jason Chen, RotoWire
Jesse Pantuosco, The Sports Network
Dave Holcomb, The Sports Network

Racing Writer of the Year
Brian Polking, KFFL
Eric McClung, FF Toolbox

Golf Writer of the Year
Jeremy Schilling, RotoWire
Pat Mayo, RotoExperts
Gibb Pollard, RotoGrinders

College Sports Writer of the Year 
Chris Bennett, RotoWire
Chris Morgan, RotoWire
Brad Evans, Yahoo

Humor Article of the Year
Ken Crites, RotoWire
Scott White, CBS

Newcomer of the Year
Brandon Lee, Her Fantasy Football
Dan Ciarrocchi, SB Nation
Evan Tarracciano, RotoExperts
Brandon Williams, RotoExperts

Baseball Article of the Year, Online
Benny Ricciardi, DFS Report
Mike Podhorzer, FanGraphs
Paul Sporer, RotoWire

Baseball Article of the Year, Print
David Regan, RotoWire
Matt Lutovsky, Sporting News
Steve Gardner, USA Today

Best Baseball Ongoing Series
Jeff Zimmerman, FanGraphs
Brad Pinkerton, Sporting News
John Britt, RotoGrinders

Baseball Writer of the Year
Drew Dinkmeyer, RotoExperts
Michael Rathburn, RotoWire
David Regan, RotoWire
Matt Lutovsky, Sporting News
Mike Podhorzer, FanGraphs

Football Article of the Year, Online
Steve Schwarz, The Sports Network
Walter Collazo, Fantasy Sharks
Adam Harstad, Football Guys

Football Article of the Year, Print
Matt Lutovsky, Sporting News
Bill Bender, Sporting News
Leo Paciga, Football Diehards

Best Fantasy Football Ongoing Series
Evan Silva, Rotoworld
John Georgopoulos, Fantasy Sharks 
Jeff Pasquino, Football Guys

Fantasy Football Writer of the Year
Jeff Paur, RealTime
Ladd Biro, Fantasy Fools
Ian Riley, RotoExperts
Jesse Pantuosco, The Sports Network
Steve Schwarz, The Sports Network

RotoWire produced nine finalists, while RotoExperts had eight. Matt Lutovsky of The Sporting News is a finalist for three awards, covering multiple sports. Jesse Pantuosco, David Regan, Pat Mayo, Dave Holcomb, Mike Podhorzer and Steve Schwarz are each finalists for two awards.