<< Go To Back

2017 award winners announced
The News - Latest News
Written by Andy Behrens   
Wednesday, 07 February 2018 11:42

 The Fantasy Sports Writers Association announced the winners of its fourteenth annual writing and media awards on February 6, in a live broadcast on SiriusXM Fantasy Sports Radio. The FSWA also honored its newest Hall of Fame members, Stephania Bell and Brad Evans, during the show. 

Winners for 2017 were as follows: 


Basketball Writer of the Year
Benny Ricciardi, Fantasy Guru Elite


Hockey Writer of the Year
Doug Shain, US Fantasy Sports


Newcomer of Year
James McCool, DailyRoto

Racing Writer of the Year
Mark Taylor, RotoWire


Golf Writer of the Year
Adam Daly-Frey, Fantasy Golf Insider


Humor Article
Sammy Reid, RotoGrinders


College Sports Writer of the Year
Brad Evans, Yahoo Sports


Soccer Writer of Year
Andrew Laird, RotoWire


Best Fantasy Baseball Podcast
USA Today Fantasy Baseball, hosted by Steve Gardner 


Best Fantasy Baseball Publication


Best Baseball Article, Print
Tim McCullough, RotoExperts


Best Baseball Article, Online
Jim Sannes, numberFire


Best Baseball Series
Scott Engel, RotoExperts


Baseball Writer of the Year
Todd Zola, Mastersball & RotoWire


Best Fantasy Podcast, All/Multiple Sports
RotoWire Basketball Podcast


Video of the Year
Fantasy Football Live, Yahoo Sports


Radio Show of the Year
Pro Football Focus on SiriusXM, hosted by Jeff Ratcliffe


Best Fantasy Football Podcast
The Fantasy Footballers, with Mike Wright, Jason Moore and Andy Holloway


Best Fantasy Football Publication


Best Football Article, Print
Jamey Eisenberg, CBS Sports


Best Football Article, Online
Jeff Ratcliffe, Pro Football Focus


Best Football Series
Tyler Loechner, Pro Football Focus


Football Writer of the Year
Gary Davenport, Fantasy Sharks & Bleacher Report


Brad Evans won his sixth award in the College Sports category and his eighth overall. Mark Taylor won his fifth Racing Writer of the Year award. Six of last year's winners repeated in their categories in 2017. RotoWire claimed five awards, leading all companies. Congratulations to all winners and finalists.