<< Go To Back

2011 Writing Award Winners Announced
Written by Michael Naclerio   

History was made at the 2011 FSWA Writing Awards (presented last week at the FSTA Winter Conference in Las Vegas). Nationally syndicated columnist Ladd Biro became the first person ever to claim a second Fantasy Football Writer of the Year award; Biro won the award last year. To add an extra highlight to his night, Biro took home the award for Best Humor Article.

Biro was not the only repeat winner at this year’s event. Brad Evans of Yahoo! took home the College Sports Writer of the Year award for the third straight year, tying him with Mark Taylor (RotoWire) and Christopher Harris (ESPN) as the only fantasy writers to accomplish the feat (Taylor and Harris both won Racing Writer of the Year three years in a row). The Sporting News also repeated its win for Best Baseball Print Publication.

It was also a big year for Daniel E. Dobish of RotoExperts, who took home two awards this year – Golf and Racing Writer of the Year. Dobish was also a finalist for Hockey Writer of the Year. “I am very honored to have been nominated, let alone win. Thanks to FSWA for allowing writers to have this chance. Most importantly, a huge thanks to the great editors at RotoExperts, who are meticulous in their work.”

RotoWire claimed five awards this year; this marks the sixth straight year the site has tied or led for most awards.

“I’m really happy for RotoWire's four first-time winners and that RotoWire won an award in each of the four major sports. It shows we have a deep and talented team,” said Peter Schoenke. “And Dave Regan continues to demonstrate that he's one of the most talented fantasy baseball writers in the industry with another award – that's five in the last three years.”

While RotoWire was able to maintain its impressive run, RotoExperts made a big splash with four awards. RotoExperts is relatively new to the scene, having started up in the spring of 2008.

Managing Director Scott Engel said that the quick climb is a testament to all involved: “We set out from the start to set very high standards of quality fantasy content. The staff we’ve assembled and the goals we’ve set and met have been reflected in the tremendous performance of our staff.”

“As far as the awards, it speaks to the quality of the people we have on board and the dedication to what we do. You'll only see more in the coming years, we're not done yet.”

Here is a list of this year’s winners:

Football Writer of the Year
Ladd Biro, Nationally Syndicated Columnist/Fantasy Fools

Best Football Series
Adam Levitan, RotoWorld

Best Football Article in Print
Jeff Stotts, RotoWire

Best Football Article on the Web
Jeff Paur, RealTime

Best Football Print Publication
Sports Illustrated

Baseball Writer of the Year
Chris Ryan, RotoExperts

Best Baseball Series
Ray Flowers, Baseball Guys/RotoWire

Best Baseball Article in Print
David Regan, RotoWire

Best Baseball Article on the Web
Tristan Cockcroft, ESPN

Best Baseball Print Publication
The Sporting News

Basketball Writer of the Year
Carson Cistulli, RotoWire

Hockey Writer of the Year
Mark McLarney, RotoWire

College Sports Writer of the Year
Brad Evans, Yahoo!

Racing Writer of the Year
Daniel Dobish, RotoExperts

Golf Writer of the Year
Daniel Dobish, RotoExperts

Best Humor Article
Ladd Biro, Nationally Syndicated Columnist/Fantasy Fools

Newcomer of the Year
Mark Bloom, RotoExperts

Click here for a list of all of this year's finalists